top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelody Rong

ang n mel

Updated: Mar 21, 2023

it's us against the world ( ๑ ˃̵ᴗ˂̵)و ♡

From friendship bracelets to exploring NYC


Everyone dreams of having that a best friend. Someone who would do anything for you, someone who understands you without having to say a single word, someone who will always answer your calls even if it's at 3 AM...


None of these thoughts came across my mind when I first met Ang - it was my first day as an official middle schooler, I couldn't wait to experience what the real world was like. I made sure that everything that day would go perfectly, from my newly purchased "cool girl" outfit to having the best school supplies a girl could dream of. But something that I didn't anticipate was what I was about to encounter during English class.


I had my first Goldilocks moment, picking a seat that wasn't too close to the teacher's table but not too secluded where it would look like I was anti-social. I took a seat, laid out my crisp folder and mechanical pencil in my favorite spots on the desk, and showed off my shiny new water bottle my mom packed for me. Everything was perfect... until I made eye contact with a girl across the room.


She seemed tense yet stoic, I couldn't read her body language at all. We stared into each other's for almost two-minutes long; one waiting for the other to break the contact first. "What is this girl's problem? Who is she?"


To be continued...

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page