top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelody Rong

Welcome all Deutschers!

my first steps into advertising irl ⋆ ˚。⋆୨୧˚



Imposter syndrome has always been a topic swirling in the air as soon as I started my college career. It's often difficult to distinguish which particular moments one is experiencing imposter syndrome, especially when you're not aware of what it is exactly. That's how things were for the first few years for me, however, as I met more and more people from different backgrounds, upbringings, cultures; I soon became fully aware of what this conundrum was all about.


It was something that I haven't experienced since high school and so I almost went into full-panic mode when I realized I was experiencing the phenomena during my first day at Deutsch LA. Maybe it was the adrenal rush carried over from my morning drive down from Santa Barbara or perhaps the fact that I naturally feel intimidated by new individuals in an unfamiliar environment, but the imposter syndrome was REAL. The combination of listing to the other interns talk about their notable past experiences, witnessing a creative deck for the first time, and meeting everyone in-person all at once was more to process than I expected.


I was always surrounded by like-minded people for a majority of my life so it was subconsciously shocking for me to learn about just how different everyone was at Deutsch LA. The lack of familiarity was terrifying and blinded me from realizing that there would be new and exciting experiences that on the horizon. But as the days went on and I began to slowly let my walls down, I felt myself adapting to these new feelings and embracing the fact that there were distinct differences between everyone that I've met thus far.


Since then, I've grown to love each of our differences and embrace the fast-paced environment that the advertising industry represents. It's taught me to stay prepared for the unexpected, but also welcome the new comings that weren't necessarily written down on my planner. I've been able to immerse myself in an abundance of new experiences, learning opportunities, and memorable interactions with individuals who have welcomed me with nothing more than kindness and enthusiasm.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page