top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelody Rong

@skipthemenu

Updated: Jul 14, 2023

2021 Chicago Series: Cindy’s Rooftop .˚ₓ the not-so-touristy brunch spot


As the seasons slowly began to transition from vibrant, warm summer breezes to cool, yet cozy autumn winds, I was lucky enough to have experienced my first semi-solo trip. Chicago has always been somewhere that I always knew I wanted to visit; it's been proclaimed to be the almost perfect in-between of NYC and LA, which if you couldn't tell already, are two places that eternally hold a sacred place in my heart. So to think that this trip occurred on a whim was surprising to say the least, but nevertheless, it was one of the most memorable and eye-opening experiences I've had thus far.


The spontaneous decision to make a quick trip to this beloved city actually occurred while I was in the process of booking a flight to NYC for my very first independent trip with a few of my friends at the time. Being young (and slightly financially unstable) college students steered us towards the search for the best and cost-friendly flights out to the Big Apple, which translates to flights with one or more layovers in between. So a few days later after everything was booked, I decided to start working on our itinerary and as I was pasting over our flight information, I couldn't help but notice a mere 5-hour layover in... guess where... CHICAGO! And lucky enough, my favorite uncle had recently just moved there just two years beforehand. Thus after a quick banter and small talk later, another flight e-mail confirmation landed into my inbox.


This trip was one of the few times I was able to fully explore a new city on my own- though it did seem a bit daunting at first (I was small girl in a big city), I've always found joy in independent adventures so I didn't mind the few typical nuisances of living in a major city. The trip bounced between following my uncle to his favorite spots around town and discovering my own comfort spots, which in this point of life happened to be local cafe's. Working as at a coffee shop back home had introduced a new form of enthusiasm towards all things coffee for me that summer, so it became a necessity for me to find the best ones out here!


But beyond drinking a myriad of cappuccinos and matcha lattes, we also spent a good amount of time trying out the best food the city had to offer as well. My uncle introduced me to what became one of my favorite brunch spots in Chicago! The kick from the chilaquiles paired perfectly alongside the refreshing chia pudding. This is a must-try if you’re ever near millennium park. --

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page